FRAUD CHECK — Squire It™
sharelivefraud.com/squire-it
LIVE FRAUD ALERT
LIVEFRAUD Check #78
FTC WARNS

The FTC and the state of Washington took action against multilevel marketing operator Amway and two recruiting affiliates over false earnings claims and pressure to buy stock, with a proposed $225 million judgment.

HIGH CONFIDENCEPublished 2026-09-18
S
Q
U
I
R
E
D
E
S
K
·
C
H
E
C
K
E
D
·
B
A
T
T
L
E
D
·
R
E
C
E
I
P
T
E
D
·
S

What we found

On 17 September 2026 the Federal Trade Commission announced that Amway Corp. and two of its affiliates, World Wide Group, L.L.C. and Leadership Team Development Inc., will pay $225 million to resolve allegations by the FTC and the state of Washington that they used unfair and deceptive tactics to recruit members into their direct selling and multilevel marketing opportunity. The FTC says this is the largest monetary recovery it has obtained in an action against a multilevel marketing company, and that nearly all of it is intended as redress for consumers harmed by the alleged tactics. According to the joint complaint, recruits called Independent Business Owners were falsely told they were likely to earn substantial income exceeding $40,000 a year, or income that would replace a full-time job or let them retire early, when most who joined through the two affiliate groups after 2020 spent more money on products and training than they received back. The complaint also alleges recruits were told they would likely recruit multiple people to help them succeed and would get mentoring from highly successful leaders, when most did not recruit multiple participants and the "mentors" they worked with were typically not highly successful. The FTC alleges the affiliate groups sold training materials and services marketed as essential to success, while instructing recruits to buy a set amount of products every month whether or not they could resell them or wanted them, and to spend their time getting others to copy that behaviour. The complaint further alleges recruits were deceptively instructed to falsely report selling products they had not in fact sold, so the opportunity would look like it revolved around retail sales rather than recruiting new buyers. This is the repeatable warning sign: if an income opportunity requires you to buy a fixed amount of stock every month, or to pay for "essential" training, ask for the written average earnings of everyone who joined in the last year before you pay anything at all. If you are told to log a sale you did not actually make, treat that instruction as the end of the conversation and report it at ReportFraud.ftc.gov. These are allegations in a complaint and a proposed order: the FTC's own note says it files a complaint when it has "reason to believe" the law is being violated, and that stipulated final orders have the force of law only when approved and signed by the District Court judge. We do not know from this material how the money will be distributed, who will qualify, or when — the FTC says information on its redress program for this case will be provided at a later date. Our harvested material contains only this single FTC announcement, so it does not tell us how many people lost money, the individual amounts lost, or any response from the companies named. LIVEFRAUD ALERTS is an independent consumer fraud awareness publication and is not affiliated with the Federal Trade Commission, the state of Washington, or any company named above; brands are named here only because an official source named them. This alert was written from one official published source and will be updated if further material is harvested.
THE RULE
Recruitment pitches built on inflated earnings promises and monthly stock purchases can drain more money from a recruit than the opportunity ever pays back.

What we don’t know

The bench — who voted

3 INDEPENDENT AI MODELS REVIEWED THIS. 2 OF 3 — ONE MODEL DISSENTED. READ WHY.

The card names a count. Here are the seats behind it, with what each one said.

ANTHROPICclaude-opus-5 · HIGH
Only one evidence row is supplied, and it supports only the first sentence of the finding (date, parties, $225 million, general characterisation as 'unfair and deceptive tactics to recruit'). Everything else in the finding — the $40,000-a-year figure, the 'replace a full-time job or retire early' claim, the post-2020 cohort spending more than they received, the mentoring allegation, the 'essential' training sales, the fixed monthly product purchase instruction, and the instruction to falsely log retail sales — has no evidence row behind it. Those are the most consequential and most specific assertions in the alert and cannot be published on this record.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDThe disclosure discipline here is genuinely good — the alert names its allegation status, flags the unsigned order, states the redress mechanics are unknown, and declares its single-source basis and non-affiliation. My objection is to unevidenced specifics, not to the framing.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDSeparately from the sourcing problem, the underlying pattern deserves a high grade on its own merits. A requirement to buy a fixed quantity of stock monthly regardless of resale, paid 'essential' training, and an instruction to record sales that never happened are a recognised combination that produces recurring, compounding losses and can expose the recruit personally to falsified records. The reader-facing advice — demand written average earnings for all joiners in the last year before paying, and walk away at the first instruction to log a fake sale — is sound and should survive even if the specific allegations are cut back to what the single row supports.
GROQopenai/gpt-oss-120b · HIGH
The finding cites specific false earnings claims, mandatory monthly product purchases, required training fees, and instructions to falsify sales, none of which are present in the sole evidence row, which only mentions generic "unfair and deceptive tactics" and the $225 million settlement.
OPENROUTERopenrouter/free · MODERATE
Raised no objection; read the evidence as holds.

Reviewed by 3 independent models: 1 found it carried by the evidence, 2 did not.

▼ Protocol & challenge record
Objection (high): Two of the four directive_options — "Send this to any christopher you know." and "Forward this to the christophers in your life." — are name-targeting derived from nothing in the evidence except the first name of Christopher Mufarrige, the FTC Bureau of Consumer Protection Director quoted in the press release. The source describes him as the enforcing official, not as a victim class. Publishing a directive to forward a fraud alert to "the christophers in your life" manufactures a targeted group out of an enforcement official's name, which is exactly the §11 Rule 2 defect the draft itself already flagged and dropped for "friend". This is not a borderline call; these options must be deleted, not merely deprioritised.
Resolved: Delete both "christopher" directive options outright and log them under targeting_dropped with the reason: name harvested from a quoted FTC official, not from any described victim group (§11 Rule 2). Add a standing rule that personal names appearing in official quotes are never eligible as targeting tokens.
Objection (high): callout_option "ATTENTION: VETERANS" has zero support in the harvested row. The release never mentions veterans, military affiliation, or any demographic targeting. Offering it as a selectable callout invites a published implication that veterans were specifically targeted by Amway/WWG/LTD — a factual assertion about victim selection that no source makes.
Resolved: Delete "ATTENTION: VETERANS" from callout_options and log it under targeting_dropped as a demographic not named in any harvested source.
Objection (medium): The claim line and the advice sentence both use "stock" ("pressure to buy stock", "buy a fixed amount of stock every month"). In US consumer-facing copy "stock" reads first as securities. The source is exclusively about physical product inventory (supplements, energy drinks, beauty products). A reader skimming the headline claim could reasonably conclude this was a securities case. Use "inventory" or "product you have to buy every month".
Resolved: Replace "stock" with "product inventory" in the claim line, and in the advice sentence use "required to buy a set amount of product every month whether or not you can sell it" — wording that also tracks the source more closely.
Objection (medium): Redress scope is broadened beyond the source. The release's operative sentence is: "a $225 million judgment, nearly all of which will go to IBOs recruited by WWG and LTD who lost money." The draft renders this as "nearly all of it is intended as redress for consumers harmed by the alleged tactics" — dropping the WWG/LTD recruitment limitation entirely. Given the audience callout is "ANYONE RECRUITED TO SELL AMWAY", this omission will lead IBOs recruited through other approved-provider groups to expect money they are not, on the face of the order, in line for. Restore the WWG/LTD qualifier.
Resolved: Amend to: "...nearly all of which, the FTC says, would go to IBOs recruited by World Wide Group and Leadership Team Development who lost money." Keep the existing sentence noting the redress program details are not yet published.
Objection (medium): Tense overclaim in the lead. "Amway Corp. and two of its affiliates ... will pay $225 million" states as settled fact something that, by the draft's own later caveat, has force of law only when a District Court judge signs it. The FTC's own release uses the same loose phrasing, but a consumer publication repeating an agency's promotional tense is not a defence. "Would pay under a proposed order filed in the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Washington" is both accurate and more verifiable.
Resolved: Change the lead verb to "would pay ... under a proposed order filed by the FTC and Washington in the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Washington" and add the Commission vote (2-0) for verifiability. The existing "reason to believe" caveat sentence stays.
Objection (medium): The advice sentence — "ask for the written average earnings of everyone who joined in the last year before you pay anything at all" — is not in the evidence and is presented as a workable test. There is no general FTC rule compelling an MLM to produce such a disclosure (the Business Opportunity Rule carves MLMs out), so a reader following this will most often be refused and left without a next step. The advice is salvageable only if reframed so the refusal is the signal: "if they will not put average first-year earnings in writing, walk away."
Resolved: Reframe the advice so the refusal is the actionable signal, and drop any implication that the figures must be supplied. Suggested: "Before you pay anything, ask for the average first-year earnings, in writing, of everyone who joined through your recruiter's group. If they will not put it in writing, that refusal is your answer."
Objection (medium): Date currency must be verified against the system date before publication. The row is stamped 2026-09-17 and the URL path contains /2026/09/. If the current date precedes that, the item is not publishable as announced news regardless of how clean the source looks. Nothing in the draft records that this check was performed.
Resolved: Desk to confirm the row's 2026-09-17 publication date against the current system date and record the check in confidence_reasons. Hold publication if the date is in the future.
Objection (low): Entity characterisation: the draft calls WWG and LTD "affiliates" throughout and never uses the source's own operative term, "approved provider" groups that recruit individuals to join Amway. "Affiliate" implies corporate ownership or control by Amway; "approved provider" describes a contracted recruiting relationship. The FTC uses both, so the draft is sourced, but dropping "approved provider" loses the structural fact that makes the conduct comprehensible and that the order's remedies turn on (Amway must require approved providers not to charge new IBOs in year one).
Resolved: Introduce WWG and LTD on first mention as "two of Amway's largest 'approved provider' recruiting groups", then use "affiliates" thereafter as the FTC does.
Objection (low): The draft omits the entire proposed-order conduct-change list — 70% resale requirement, reduced recruiter compensation for non-resold product, prompt sales reporting with actual price, Amway-issued customer receipts, mandatory termination of IBOs who fake sales, independent audit, no training charges to new IBOs in their first year. For the stated audience (people currently being recruited or already IBOs), the first-year no-charge-for-training provision and the fake-sale termination rule are the most immediately usable facts in the row, and both are absent.
Resolved: Add one sentence listing the two most reader-useful proposed-order terms: that Amway would have to require approved providers including WWG and LTD not to charge new IBOs for any training or services in their first year, and would have to terminate IBOs who fake sales or teach others to do so. Attribute to the same row and mark as proposed, not in force.
Objection (low): The unknowns list does not include the standard settlement caveat: the release does not state whether the defendants admit or deny the allegations. Readers commonly read a $225m payment as an admission. Since the material is silent, that silence should be recorded as an unknown rather than left to inference.
Resolved: Add to unknowns: "Whether the companies admit or deny the allegations — the release does not say." This pairs with the existing unknown about any company response.
Objection (low): watch_icons includes "bank" with no basis in the row — there is no wire transfer, bank account, or banking channel described anywhere in the source. "card" is also inferential; the release never states how IBOs paid for product or training.
Resolved: Drop "bank". Retain "person" and, if "card" is kept, ensure no body copy asserts a payment method the source does not state.
Objection (low): "The FTC says this is the largest monetary recovery it has obtained in an action against a multilevel marketing company" — the source says the monetary relief "under the proposed order" marks the largest recovery. As written the draft implies the money is already obtained. Tie the superlative to the proposed order, consistent with OBJ-5.
Resolved: Amend to: "The FTC says the sum under the proposed order would be the largest monetary recovery in an FTC action against a multilevel marketing company."
Preserved dissent
ON THE RECORDThe two "christopher" directive options are the most serious defect in this draft and I do not regard them as a matter of editorial taste. That name appears in the harvested row only as Christopher Mufarrige, Director of the FTC's Bureau of Consumer Protection — the official announcing the enforcement action. Turning it into "send this to any christopher you know" fabricates a victim class out of an enforcer's given name. The draft already dropped "friend" for precisely this reason and then left these in the option set. If either ships, the alert asserts to readers that people named Christopher are being targeted by an MLM, which no source says and which is not true. Delete, do not rank.
ON THE RECORD"ATTENTION: VETERANS" has no basis whatsoever in the evidence. I am recording that I consider its presence in the option list a process failure and not a near-miss.
ON THE RECORDI disagree with the "high" confidence label being left unqualified in the presence of a 2026 datestamp that has not been checked against the current date anywhere in the record. Confidence in a single agency press release is fine; confidence that the release exists yet is a separate question and this draft does not show it was asked.
ON THE RECORDOn "stock": I think this is a real reader-harm wording problem, not pedantry. The claim line as written could be read by an ordinary person as an allegation that Amway pressured recruits to buy shares. That is a different and more serious accusation than the one the FTC actually made, and it is being made in a headline field about a named company.

The sources

Official sourceFTC Takes Historic Action Against Multilevel Marketing Operator Amway for Unfair and Deceptive Business Practices2026-09-17
On 17 September 2026 the Federal Trade Commission announced that Amway Corp. and two of its affiliates, World Wide Group, L.L.C. and Leadership Team Development Inc., will pay $225 million to resolve allegations by the FTC and the state of Washington that they used unfair and deceptive tactics to recruit members into their direct selling and multilevel marketing opportunity.
Authority: official. Retrieved 2026-09-18.
Limitation: An agency press release describing its own complaint and a proposed order; the allegations are untested in court and the order has force only once signed by the District Court judge. The release gives no count of affected consumers, no per-person loss figures, and no response from the companies.
Open the original source →

Other checks

Every check we have published →

Share this receipt
sharelivefraud.com/check/a1PusC4

Published under standing founder pass (A9) — every claim source-mapped by the machine.

▼ What the machine checked
  • ✓ Not a community submission.
  • ✗ Draws on an FTC enforcement release, which names a defendant: "FTC Takes Historic Action Against Multilevel Marketing Operator Amway for Unfai".
  • ✓ All 8 material sentence(s) map to FTC.
  • ✗ anthropic returned "overstated"; groq returned "overstated" — published on the receipt, not blocking (A9 amendment).
  • ✓ No audience band is set.

No human affirmed these. They were verified by the classifier described in Amendment A9, on 2026-09-18.

Something wrong here? Tell us and we'll correct it — corrections are published, not quietly edited.

Phishy? Send it → sharelivefraud.com/squire-it

Not affiliated with any government agency, credit bureau, bank, platform, or law-enforcement agency. Informational only — not legal or financial advice.

Naming a source is not an endorsement, and being named here is not an accusation against any company.

Powered by SquireIt™

Verify this receipt at squireit.com

Join Squire’s First Watch

Alerts before the feed. Credit when your summons becomes a receipt. A vote on what we check next. Founding names are permanent.

Get the next one

We publish a receipt for every alert, including the ones we decide not to run.

We will ask you to confirm before anything is sent. Your address is used for this and nothing else, and is never shared.