FRAUD CHECK — Squire It™
sharelivefraud.com/squire-it
LIVE FRAUD ALERT
LIVEFRAUD Check #5
FTC WARNS

Social media accounts pitching paid "learn to trade" programs with flashy wealth imagery are a documented scam pattern, as set out in an FTC consumer alert tied to the agency's action against International Markets Live.

HIGH CONFIDENCEPublished 2026-08-15
S
Q
U
I
R
E
D
E
S
K
·
C
H
E
C
K
E
D
·
B
A
T
T
L
E
D
·
R
E
C
E
I
P
T
E
D
·
S

What we found

An FTC consumer alert published in August 2026 warns that social media is flooded with people flashing fancy cars and exotic trips, claiming you can have the same lifestyle just by "learning to trade." The alert states those pitches rarely mention that trading is risky, that no returns can be promised, and that you can lose a lot of money fast. According to a lawsuit brought by the FTC, young people were targeted on social media by International Markets Live (IML), also known as IM Mastery Academy and IYOVIA. The agency says IML advertised "educators" who often had no legitimate credentials, and that the company used false earning claims to recruit people into a large investment training scheme. Following the agency's action, the FTC says the company is no longer in business, its leaders must turn over assets valued at over $90 million, and they are banned from selling trading training services and investment opportunities in the future. The FTC's stated test for readers is blunt: no one can promise you'll make lots of money with little to no risk, and no one can promise to teach you how to trade successfully in the financial markets — anyone who does is a scammer. The alert advises researching the company, its officials and its promoters by searching their name plus words like "review," "scam," or "fraud," reading several pages of results because the first ones may be paid ads, and checking with your state attorney general for complaints. It also advises taking your time, asking questions, and getting a second opinion on a coaching program from someone who has your best interests in mind. Treat the pattern, not the brand name, as the warning sign — the same pitch structure can reappear under new names.
THE RULE
Anyone recruited through social media into a paid trading-education or "business opportunity" program that leads with lifestyle imagery and income promises.

What we don’t know

The bench — who voted

2 INDEPENDENT AI MODELS REVIEWED THIS. 1 OF 2 — ONE MODEL DISSENTED. READ WHY.

The card names a count. Here are the seats behind it, with what each one said.

GROQopenai/gpt-oss-120b · HIGH
Finding adds specifics (flashy cars/exotic trips, claims about risk disclosure, advice to research, test for readers) not present in the cited evidence row, which only confirms the pattern description and company sanctions.
OPENROUTERopenrouter/free · MODERATE
The finding relies on the FTC's allegations in a consumer alert summary rather than independently verified data (e.g., confirmation of unqualified educators or false claims beyond the lawsuit's scope).

Reviewed by 2 independent models: 1 found it carried by the evidence, 1 did not.

▼ Protocol & challenge record
Objection (medium): Quote drift on the single most load-bearing sentence. The source twice says "No one can guarantee" (guarantee you'll make money; guarantee to teach you to trade). The draft renders both as "no one can promise." In FTC consumer-protection language "guarantee" is the operative term; "promise" is broader and softer. As written the draft presents a paraphrase as "the FTC's stated test" and pairs it with the em-dash conclusion "anyone who does is a scammer," which the FTC attaches to the guarantee formulation. Restore "guarantee" verbatim.
Resolved: Replace "promise" with "guarantee" in both clauses of the finding sentence, tracking the source verbatim.
Objection (medium): The closing sentence of the finding — "Treat the pattern, not the brand name, as the warning sign — the same pitch structure can reappear under new names" — carries row_ids: [] and is nowhere in the harvested text. It is analyst advice smuggled into a block otherwise presented as sourced reporting, and it directly asserts a recurrence risk that the draft's own unknowns list says is unaddressed ("Whether the same operators or promoters are active under other names is not stated"). Either label it explicitly as inference or drop it.
Resolved: Recast the closing sentence as an explicitly labelled analyst inference (or delete it), and keep the corresponding item in unknowns.
Objection (medium): Confidence "high" is applied to the whole finding, but the finding mixes two very different evidentiary tiers: (a) the remedy facts (out of business, >$90M asset turnover, prospective ban), which are the FTC's own statements about its own action, and (b) the conduct characterisations (uncredentialed "educators," false earning claims, recruitment into a scheme), which are allegations in litigation as summarised in a consumer alert. The confidence_reasons acknowledge this in the third bullet, but the headline rating does not. Confidence should be split or downgraded to medium-high with the allegation/remedy distinction on the face of the finding.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (medium): No alternative explanation for the remedy language is considered. "Leaders must turn over assets valued at over $90 million" and "banned ... in the future" are consistent with a stipulated order in which defendants neither admit nor deny the allegations, and consumer alerts routinely compress such orders. The draft does not say whether the order is final, stipulated, contested, suspended in part, or on appeal, nor whether the $90M is a judgment figure versus an amount actually collected. Readers will read "must turn over assets valued at over $90 million" as money recovered; the source does not support that.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (medium): "Company is no longer in business" is the FTC's characterisation of a US enforcement outcome against named entities. IML/IM Mastery Academy/IYOVIA operated as a multi-level structure with international footprint and affiliate promoters; a US order shutting the corporate defendants does not establish that affiliated foreign entities, licensees or individual promoters have ceased operating. The draft repeats the FTC line without this scope limit — and then, in the unsourced closing sentence, hints at exactly the recurrence the scope limit would be needed for.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (low): Source-to-claim stretch in the claim line: "a documented scam pattern" is supported by the alert's title and framing ("How to spot investment training scams on social media"), but the evidentiary base is one alert plus one enforcement action. The claim's scoping ("as set out in an FTC consumer alert tied to the agency's action against International Markets Live") mostly rescues it, but "documented" invites the reader to infer a corpus of cases that this single row does not provide.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (low): Mechanism omission. Both the alert and the draft describe a "large investment training scheme" and "recruit people" without naming the recruitment structure (MLM/affiliate commissions for enrolling others), which is the usual core of this fact pattern and the thing that distinguishes it from an ordinary overpriced course. Because the harvested row does not spell it out, the draft cannot assert it — but the absence should sit in unknowns rather than be silently passed over, since the risk_line's phrase "business opportunity" gestures at it.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (low): Date currency: the pub timestamp 2026-08-07 is consistent with the URL path /consumer-alerts/2026/08/, so the dateline is internally coherent. Flagging only that a single-source item dated in a year that may be ahead of the reader's frame of reference deserves an explicit as-of line, and that a consumer alert is a summary artefact — the underlying complaint/order documents were not harvested and would be the better citation for the remedy figures.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (low): Actionable omission: the alert closes with "Report it at ReportFraud.ftc.gov." The draft reproduces every other piece of the alert's advice (search terms, several pages of results, state AG, second opinion) but drops the reporting channel — the one step that is materially useful to someone already recruited.
Resolved: Add the ReportFraud.ftc.gov reporting step to the advice sentence.
Objection (low): Minor editorial colouring: "The FTC's stated test for readers is blunt" and "Following the agency's action" (source: "Thanks to the agency's action"). Neither is a factual error, but "stated test" dresses up consumer-alert copy as a formal standard.
Resolved: Soften "stated test" to "the alert's bottom line" and drop the interpretive "blunt."
Preserved dissent
ON THE RECORDI do not accept "high" confidence for this finding as a whole. The entire finding rests on one row, and that row is a consumer alert — a secondary, promotional summary of the agency's own litigation, not the complaint or the order. The remedy facts deserve high confidence; the conduct characterisations are untested allegations restated by the plaintiff, and the $90M figure is presented in a way most readers will misread as money recovered. Medium-high, with the tiers separated on the face of the finding, is the honest rating.
ON THE RECORDThe unsourced closing sentence should not survive. It is the only sentence in the finding with no row backing, it asserts a forward-looking recurrence risk, and it contradicts the draft's own unknowns list. Whatever its merit as advice, presenting it inside a sourced block is precisely the kind of drift that makes an otherwise clean single-source item look padded.
ON THE RECORDSwapping "guarantee" for "promise" is not a stylistic nit. The FTC's line works because "guarantee" is a bright line; "promise" is not, and the draft then hangs "anyone who does is a scammer" off the weaker word. Fix the quote.

The sources

Official sourceHow to spot investment training scams on social media2026-08-07
The FTC alert describes social media "learn to trade" recruitment as a scam pattern and reports that, after the agency's action against International Markets Live (also known as IM Mastery Academy and IYOVIA), the company is out of business, its leaders must turn over assets valued at over $90 million, and they are banned from selling trading training services and investment opportunities.
Authority: official. Retrieved 2026-08-15.
Limitation: The characterisations of unqualified "educators" and false earning claims are the FTC's allegations in its lawsuit as summarised in a consumer alert; the alert does not state how many people paid, how much they lost, or whether any money is being returned.
Open the original source →

Other checks

Every check we have published →

Share this receipt
sharelivefraud.com/check/eec5Guk

Approved by ihubglobalhq on 2026-08-17, after the six-point evidence checklist.

Something wrong here? Tell us and we'll correct it — corrections are published, not quietly edited.

Phishy? Send it → sharelivefraud.com/squire-it

Not affiliated with any government agency, credit bureau, bank, platform, or law-enforcement agency. Informational only — not legal or financial advice.

Naming a source is not an endorsement, and being named here is not an accusation against any company.

Powered by SquireIt™

Verify this receipt at squireit.com

Join Squire’s First Watch

Alerts before the feed. Credit when your summons becomes a receipt. A vote on what we check next. Founding names are permanent.

Get the next one

We publish a receipt for every alert, including the ones we decide not to run.

We will ask you to confirm before anything is sent. Your address is used for this and nothing else, and is never shared.